Who We Are

Skate Ontario is a unique body which was incorporated in 1982 as the sole Provincial Sport Organization (PSO) recognized by the Ontario Government for figure skating in the Province of Ontario. Through the four Ontario Skate Canada member Sections we provide developmental and competitive opportunities for approximately 75,000 members including competitive, recreational and Special Olympic skaters as well as coaches and officials.

As a corporation, Skate Ontario is managed by a Board of Directors comprised of an elected President and the four Ontario Skate Canada Section Chairs who act as officers of the corporation and who are responsible for strategic planning. In addition, appointed committees and committee chairs who report to the Board are responsible for the implementation of programs and the conduct of events.

Mission Statement

Skate Ontario is an organization dedicated to the principle of enabling every citizen in the Province of Ontario to participate in skating throughout his/her lifetime for fun, fitness and/or achievement. This is accomplished through the implementation of programs and events in all communities throughout the Province.

Our Partners

We are very grateful for the generous support of the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport and the Ontario Trillium Foundation, as well as our valued corporate sponsors Best Western. We are also proud members of True Sport as well as Sport4Ontario.

Our Initiatives

In addition to overseeing Skate Canada program delivery within the Province through the Skate Canada member Sections, Skate Ontario is responsible for the following:

Skate Ontario Board of Directors

President Karen Butcher
Director Sharon Bollenbach
Director Andrea Derby
Director Glenn Fortin
Director Sheilagh McCaskill
Director Therese Bilsborough
Director Brent Brandham
Director Migan Megardichian
Director Mary-Rose Weir

Board of Directors Bios

Committee Chairs and Coordinators

Competitions Coordinator Susan Fisher competitions@skateontario.org
Public Relations Coordinator Sean McKinnon publicrelations@skateontario.org
Technical Committee Chair Marion Dyke technical@skateontario.org

Skate Ontario Resource Personnel

Executive Director Lisa Alexander lalexander@skateontario.org
Tel: 647-822-2877
Director of Sport Operations Scott Rachuk srachuk@skateontario.org
Tel: 647-822-4048
Director of Finance and Business Operations Derek Ventnor dventnor@skateontario.org
Tel: 416 277-9341
Operations Manager Kelsey Bennett kbennett@skateontario.org
Tel: 647-822-0015

Skate Ontario Contact List

Skate Ontario Contact List

Mailing Address

Skate Ontario
989 Murray Ross Parkway
North York, Ontario
M3J 3M4