CollegiateSkate

 

CollegiateSkate

 

Schools are getting into the competitive spirit through the CollegiateSkate program which brings together skaters from different test and/or competitive backgrounds to skate together as a team representing their school. Skaters participate in a variety of events such as singles, danced, pairs and synchronized skating and based on their placements in these events, accumulate points for their team. The school with the highest point total wins the overall competition.

Varisty

Varsity figure skating is currently offered only by Ontario University Athletics (OUA), in partnership with Skate Canada, and is not part of U Sports (formerly Canadian Interuniversity Sport, CIS). Ten Ontario Conference universities compete annually for the top spot at the invitational competitions and the OUA Figure Skating Championships.

UniversityTeam NameHead CoachContact
Brock UniversityBrock Badgers Katie DortonoKatie_dortono@hotmail.com
Carleton UniversityCarleton RavensLaura KolpatrickCarleton.figure.skating@gmail.com
Guelph UniversityGuelph GryphonsJanet Gibsonvarsity.skating@uoguelph.ca
McMaster UniversityMcMaster Maraudersfigureskating@mcmaster.ca
Queen's UniversityQueen's GaelsRachel Coensqfskate@queensu.ca
Ryerson UniversityRyerson RamsMegan VandenAkkerfigskate@ryerson.ca
University of TorontoToronto Varsity BluesAshley HuiAshley.hui@utoronto.ca
University of WaterlooWaterloo WarriorsCindy Brickcbrick@rogers.com
Western UniversityWestern MustangsAlma Moirja.moir@sympatico.ca
Wilfred Laurier UniversityLaurier Golden Hawksfigureskatingclub@laurierathletics.com

The school winning the Figure Skating Championship receives the original OQWCIA Trophy, donated by the University of Windsor in 1972.

Figure Skating: Past OUA Champions

Competitions this season:

  1. OUA Fall Competition: November 23, 2017 at Carleton University
  2. OUA Winter Competition: January 24-25, 2017 at Ryerson University
  3. OUA Finals: March 6-7, 2017 at Western University (East Elgin Community Complex in Aylmer)

2017-2018 OUA Rules and Regulations Championship Handbook

High School

Annual competitions for high school skaters are currently being held in certain areas of British Columbia, Ontario, Quebec and Prince Edward Island.

Skate Ontario will be hosting:

  1. High School West: March 7-8, 2017 at East Elgin Community Complex in Aylmer
  2. High School East: date and location to be determined

This competition is run like the Varsity Figure Skating competitions, where skaters can participate in various categories such as singles, dance, pairs and team elements to accumulate points for their school team. The school with the highest point total wins the overall competition.

For more information, please contact Carol Moir – cmoir@skateontario.org.